Category Archives: License information

Business Licenses A Makeup Artist Needs

Paperwork

Starting a new business is very exciting you are energized and cannot wait to start. It is too easy to ignore the need for licenses and permits. However, there are some licenses a Makeup Artist needs. Additionally, certain permits and registrations are mandatory per law. Before you can legally begin to operate your business, you need to have all required licenses and permits in place. Also, if you have employees or sell taxable goods or services, you need to register with the authorities overseeing taxation. Requirements vary by business type and depend on where you do business.

What Happens If I Am Not Licensed?

When you do not comply with all required licenses, permits, and tax registrations you could be legally unprotected, which may result in expensive penalties, and even endanger your business.

With the continuous need to create more income, governments are usually on the lookout for alternative revenue streams. As a result the vigilance for business license evaders is ever increasing. The involvement of non government collectors is not unusual. Two of the dangers of insufficient licensing are that you may have to close your location until all licenses are obtained or your are hit with hefty penalties (including interest), or even personal liens.

Requirements for a Cosmetology License in Wyoming

To receive a cosmetology license in Wyoming or a license in one of the other beauty practitioner disciplines in this state you have to attend a licensed school and complete the minimum required training hours before you can take the state’s board exams. These required training hours are specified by the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology. After you pass the exam you can apply for the license. The fee for the license application is $96. Additional fees for the examination may also apply.

 

Minimum required training hours

  • Cosmetologist license: 2000 hours
  • Hairstylist license: 1000 hours
  • Baber license: 1500 hours
  • Esthetician license: 600 hours
  • Manicurist license: 400 hours

Requirements for a Cosmetology License in Vermont

To receive a cosmetology license in Vermont or a license in one of the other beauty practitioner disciplines in this state you have to attend a licensed school and complete the minimum required training hours before you can take the state’s board exams. These required training hours are specified by the Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. After you pass the exam you can apply for the license. The fee for the license application is $110. The examination currently costs $90.

 

Minimum required training hours

  • Cosmetologist license: 1500 hours
  • Baber license: 1500 hours
  • Esthetician license: 600 hours
  • Manicurist license: 400 hours

Requirements for a Cosmetology License in DC

To receive a cosmetology license in District of Columbia or a license in one of the other beauty practitioner disciplines in this state you have to attend a licensed school and complete the minimum required training hours before you can take the state’s board exams. These required training hours are specified by the District of Columbia Board of Barber and Cosmetology. After you pass the exam you can apply for the license. The fee for the license application is $65. There are no fees for the exam, but $110 for the actual license.

 

Minimum required training hours

  • Cosmetologist license: 1500 hours, 500 hours with barber license
  • Baber license: 1500 hours, 500 hours with cosmetology license
  • Electrologist license: 600 hours
  • Esthetician license: 600 hours
  • Manicurist license: 350 hours

Requirements for a Cosmetology License in North Dakota

To receive a cosmetology license in North Dakota or a license in one of the other beauty practitioner disciplines in this state you have to attend a licensed school and complete the minimum required training hours before you can take the state’s board exams. These required training hours are specified by the North Dakota Board of Cosmetology. After you pass the exam you can apply for the license. The total examination fee is $40. Additional fees may apply.

 

Minimum required training hours

  • Cosmetologist license: 1800 hours
  • Esthetician license: 600 hours
  • Manicurist license: 350 hours

Requirements for a Cosmetology License in Alaska

To receive a cosmetology license in Alaska or a license in one of the other beauty practitioner disciplines in this state you have to attend a licensed school and complete the minimum required training hours before you can take the state’s board exams. These required training hours are specified by the Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. After you pass the exam you can apply for the license. The fee for the license application is $80, the license itself comes $140 for. The examination fee is $95.00 ($35.00 for written, $60.00 for practical).

 

Minimum required training hours

  • Cosmetologist license: 1650 hours
  • Baber license: 1650 hours
  • Esthetician license: 350 hours
  • Manicurist license: 12 hours

Requirements for a Cosmetology License in South Dakota

To receive a cosmetology license in South Dakota or a license in one of the other beauty practitioner disciplines in this state you have to attend a licensed school and complete the minimum required training hours before you can take the state’s board exams. These required training hours are specified by the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission. After you pass the exam you can apply for the license. The fee for the license application is $80. Additional fees for the examination may also apply.

Minimum required training hours

  • Cosmetologist license: 2100 hours
  • Esthetician license: 600 hours
  • Nail Technician license: 400 hours

Requirements for a Cosmetology License in Delaware

To receive a cosmetology license in Delaware or a license in one of the other beauty practitioner disciplines in this state you have to attend a licensed school and complete the minimum required training hours before you can take the state’s board exams. These required training hours are specified by the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. After you pass the exam you can apply for the license. The fee for the cosmetology license is $103 (other types vary, see fees). Additional fees for the examination may also apply.

 

Minimum required training hours

  • Cosmetologist license: 1500 hours
  • Baber license: 1500 hours
  • Electrologist license: 300 hours
  • Aesthetician license: 600 hours
  • Nail Technician license: 300 hours

Requirements for a Cosmetology License in Montana

To receive a cosmetology license in Montana or a license in one of the other beauty practitioner disciplines in this state you have to attend a licensed school and complete the minimum required training hours before you can take the state’s board exams. These required training hours are specified by the Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. After you pass the exam you can apply for the license. The fee for the license application is $80.

 

Minimum required training hours

  • Cosmetologist license: 2000 hours
  • Baber license: 1500 hours
  • Electrologist license: 600 hours
  • Esthetician license: 650 hours
  • Manicurist license: 350 hours

Requirements for a Cosmetology License in Rhode Island

To receive a cosmetology license in Rhode Island or a license in one of the other beauty practitioner disciplines in this state, you have to attend a licensed school and complete the minimum required training hours before you can take the state’s board exams. These required training hours are specified by the Rhode Island Department of Health. After you pass the exam you can apply for the license. The fee for the license application is $25. Additional fees for the examination may also apply.

 

Minimum required training hours

  • Hairdresser/Cosmetologist license: 1500 hours
  • Baber license: 1500 hours
  • Esthetician license: 600 hours
  • Manicurist license: 300 hours